The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

The Family Next Door2

“Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty!” Normally I am very hesitant when a book is comparing itself to one of my favourite authors. Liane Moriarty writes magically and I always read her books way too quickly. So when the first sentence of the The Family Next Door said that it was perfect for fans of Liane Moriaty, I was worried and didn’t want to be let down. However, The Family Next Door was such a fun read and I would recommend it to Moriarty fans!

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

I loved gossipy type books with a mystery thrown in! From the first page I was sucked into the community of Pleasant Court and the women that lived there. There were mini mysteries with each woman and I loved it! Each person had their own secret that would threaten their perfect life. While reading, I thought that I had the mystery all figured out. I was totally wrong and I loved it!

4 calculators out of a potential 5. I would highly recommend this novel for those that are a fan of domestic drama with a hint of mystery!

red_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram

8 thoughts on “The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

  1. I love this book as well! Wonderful review!
    I hate when they make comparisons in the blurb as well, I really try not to read the blurb before I start a book, but sometimes how do you decide if you want to read it or not? It is a conundrum? 😂💕

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!! Totally agree! I always read the blurb and friends’ reviews first. If it sounds interesting and has good reviews then it goes on my to-reads. When I have the book, I try not to read the blurb again so I’ll be surprised. It’s been working out well and it makes the deaths in mystery much more intense!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Good point about the blurb — I don’t usually like to see the comparisons before I read a book, and sometimes it seems as if the publicist is just trying to hard to sell something. I do see the comparison here to Liane Moriarty’s books, and in general I really like Sally Hepworth’s writing. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s