The Mother-in-Law by Sally Hepworth

The Mother in Law

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life – the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don’t choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they’ll never have the closeness she’d been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something…

π π π π

Available tomorrow – April 23, 2019!

I am so in love with Sally Hepworth’s novels! I am also really excited that she is getting more and more into the mystery genre!

The Mother-in-Law goes into the complex relationship between mothers in law and daughter in laws. The daughter in law may go over the top to try to impress their mother in law, and the mother in law isn’t overly welcoming to their daughter in law.

This is the case with Lucy and Diana. Lucy works extra hard because she lost her mother at a young age. Diana has a different way of expressing her love and it’s comes with a lot of mixed feelings. I loved how the novel flips back and forth between Lucy and Diana and shows each of their perspectives of their relationship over the past 10 years.

And then there was the mystery. Current day, Diana is found dead. It first looks like suicide, but later on, it’s discovered that she was murdered. I loved the mystery and was totally surprised by the ending. It was shocking!

5 calculators out of a potential 5. One of my favourite reads so far this year! Great characters that show a different relationship and an unexpected ending! Also I’m happy to say that I am 1 for 1 at predicting my 5 calendar reads (Top 5 Books I Predict will be 5 Stars)!

Thank you to Netgallery and St. Martin’s Press for an ARC in exchange for my honest review.

red_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram

The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth

The Things We Keep

Anna Forster, in the early stages of Alzheimer’s disease at only thirty-eight years old, knows that her family is doing what they believe to be best when they take her to Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. She also knows there’s just one other resident her age, Luke. What she does not expect is the love that blossoms between her and Luke even as she resists her new life at Rosalind House. As her disease steals more and more of her memory, Anna fights to hold on to what she knows, including her relationship with Luke.

When Eve Bennett is suddenly thrust into the role of single mother she finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind house. When she meets Anna and Luke she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna’s and Luke’s families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them. 

π π π π

Anna – a 38 year ago woman who has been diagnosed with early early-onset Alzheimer’s. Her brother has just moved her into the Rosalind House, where she meet Luke, another resident that is fighting the same battle as her. She struggles day after day to remember what and who is important to her.

Eve – recently widowed and having to rebuild her life, she has taken a job as a cook and housekeeper at the Rosalind House. She is moved by the residents, especially by Anna and Luke. She struggles to accept why their families separate them.

Clementine – Eve’s 7 year old daughter who is struggling to understand her father’s death and why her classmates don’t treat her the same anymore.

This was such a beautiful story of how Alzheimer’s impacts all of those around us. I loved all of the character’s stories and liked that there was time difference between Anna’s story (1 year earlier) and Eve’s/Clementine’s (present day).

4 calculators out of a potential 5. A beautifully sad, yet hopeful Alzheimer’s love story.

red_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram

The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

The Family Next Door2

“Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty!” Normally I am very hesitant when a book is comparing itself to one of my favourite authors. Liane Moriarty writes magically and I always read her books way too quickly. So when the first sentence of the The Family Next Door said that it was perfect for fans of Liane Moriaty, I was worried and didn’t want to be let down. However, The Family Next Door was such a fun read and I would recommend it to Moriarty fans!

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

I loved gossipy type books with a mystery thrown in! From the first page I was sucked into the community of Pleasant Court and the women that lived there. There were mini mysteries with each woman and I loved it! Each person had their own secret that would threaten their perfect life. While reading, I thought that I had the mystery all figured out. I was totally wrong and I loved it!

4 calculators out of a potential 5. I would highly recommend this novel for those that are a fan of domestic drama with a hint of mystery!

red_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram