The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

The Family Next Door2

“Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty!” Normally I am very hesitant when a book is comparing itself to one of my favourite authors. Liane Moriarty writes magically and I always read her books way too quickly. So when the first sentence of the The Family Next Door said that it was perfect for fans of Liane Moriaty, I was worried and didn’t want to be let down. However, The Family Next Door was such a fun read and I would recommend it to Moriarty fans!

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

I loved gossipy type books with a mystery thrown in! From the first page I was sucked into the community of Pleasant Court and the women that lived there. There were mini mysteries with each woman and I loved it! Each person had their own secret that would threaten their perfect life. While reading, I thought that I had the mystery all figured out. I was totally wrong and I loved it!

4 calculators out of a potential 5. I would highly recommend this novel for those that are a fan of domestic drama with a hint of mystery!

red_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram