The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne

The Second Wife

She made her bed. You’ll lie in it.

Rebecca and Nicole swore to be best friends forever. But three years after they last met up, Rebecca receives a phone call from Nicole’s devoted husband, Richard. Nicole is dead, a tragic suicide. Drowned in a river close to her family home, Richard was the one who pulled her body from the water. Now he can’t even speak about what happened.

While Rebecca reels from the news, she reads her friend’s last letters to her and begins to wonder if she knew Nicole at all. What secrets was she keeping from all the people who knew and loved her?

As Rebecca gets closer and closer to Richard, things go too far and she begins to slip into Nicole’s old life – staying in her home, sleeping in her bed… But if she’s going to become the wife Nicole never was, can she keep herself safe?

π π π π

Available tomorrow – January 29, 2019! 

I’m in the minority with my lower rating for The Second Wife. To be honest, I found the book a bit odd and sadly I didn’t see the appeal that so many others had seen.

The book flips between Nicole and Rebecca and I wasn’t a fan of either woman. I had trouble believing their friendship and I found the chapters didn’t flow as nicely as they could have.

2 calculators out of a potential 5. Check it out if it sounds interesting to you, but wasn’t my cup of tea. The ending did take me by surprise though.

Thank you to Netgallery and Bookouture for an ARC in exchange for my honest review.

red_calculatorred_calculator

Let’s be friends! Goodreads & Instagram

24 thoughts on “The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne

  1. It does sound really interesting to me but I hate it when the characters are unlikeable. I found that with The Girl on the Train.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this one. I’m very intrigued by the blurb, so I think I may still give it a chance. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment